Supporting a writer…

Posted: August 15, 2014 in Writing
Tags: ,

I must say, I am glad I’m a writer and not someone who is friends with a writer. Supporting a writer must be really hard. You have to tell them things you know they don’t want to hear because they want you to tell them.

Let me say that again. They want you to tell them things they don’t want to hear.

You know they put their heart and soul into a piece of writing. You know they’ve shed blood and tears over this project. Then, they bring it to you and say, “Tell me what you think is wrong with this.”

What?!? You want me to shred the project you’ve been slaving over, stressing over and whining over for the past several months?!? What kind of a friend would do that?!?

In the minds of many writers I have spoken with and in my mind as well, I will give you the best answer I can.

A great friend.

I have trusted you with my baby. I have trusted you to help me make it better than I can make it alone. If you refuse, I’m hurt because you refuse my baby. If you say, “It’s fine”, I feel like you don’t care about my baby. If you say, “This character needs to shut his mouth and behave himself.” I jump for joy. Why? Because you care! Because you’re either catching what I’m trying to say or letting me know I’ve missed the mark.

What a great friend you are! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

