You’re not good enough.

Posted: August 20, 2014 in Writing
Say what?!?

Say what?!?

No, no one has ever said those words to me. I have heard them everywhere, though. What do I mean?

People, generally, are helpful. They say things like: Your characters are flat, you need to work on them.

I hear: You’re not good enough, you might as well give up.

What’s the problem? I have this belief, somewhere in my mind, that if what I do isn’t good enough, then neither am I. I have my identity tied up with what I do!

Do you have this problem too?

What am I doing about it? I take a bit of time to allow myself the fit I usually throw. Then, I look at what they actually said. Finally, I get to work on fixing the problem.

I’ve been doing this for a couple of months now. I have made quite a bit of progress! I can look at the criticism as someone showing me love. They are trying to help me be better at what I do.

What do you think? Am I doing the right thing? Am I too thin skinned? Do you have this problem too? I would love to hear from ya!

Comments
  1. chitrader says:

    My feelings exactly. I accept the positive criticism but think to myself, “I suck.” Shouldn’t be that way, just is. I guess that’s why we need the validation of getting a book published and sold to real people for real money. 🙂

    Thanks for your interest in my blog and good luck with your writing.

    Chris

    Like

  2. Thank you. I have had this for many years, but just recently found out other people have it too! 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

