How to use the Easiest-Ever Guide to Story Outlining

Posted: May 19, 2015 in Writing
Tags: , , ,

What I said

I said that I would use this guide to outlining by Chris Andrews when I got an idea for a story. Well, I got an idea for a story. It was flimsy to say the least. I wanted to create a story where humanoid kind had to work with dragons to save the dragons and the worlds magic. That was the idea to start with…

This is Chris Andrews Image and I have no rights to it at all!

This is Chris Andrews Image and I have no rights to it at all!

What I did

I began to work it out the way I normally do, then I remembered I needed to outline because I’m working now and I may need to take a few days off from writing in order to work…

What I’ve done

Return of the Dragons Outline is what I’ve named the outline, maybe the book. Who knows! Right now, it’s just an idea I’m playing with. It may work out, it may not…

Who’s it about?

Telandria Moonbright, a female elven sorceress

What do they want?

Find a husband and raise some kids while working on her sorcery

Who or what is preventing them from getting it?

She is the reincarnation of the leader of the dragon slayers that forced the dragons to extinction

I wrote it in sentence form:

Telandria Moonbright, an elven sorceress, wants to raise a family with all her heart, but her previous life as the leader of a group of dragon slayers has ramifications she is just now learning about.

Telandria Moonbright, an elven sorceress, wants to raise a family, but her previous life as the leader of a famous group of dragon slayers has ramifications she is unaware of.

Set up

Adventure begins

Things get serious

Resolution

Sequence 1

Sequence 3

Sequence 5

Sequence 7

Sequence 2

Sequence 4

Sequence 6

Sequence 8

I don’t know about you, but I feel a bit silly at this point. How can you outline a story using sequences? Augh!

Telandria Moonbright, an elven sorceress, wants to raise a family, but her previous life as the leader of a famous group of dragon slayers has ramifications she is unaware of.

Set up

Adventure begins

Things get serious

Resolution

Sequence 1 How Telandria finds out dragons are not extinct

Sequence 3 Telandria learns a great deal about dragons while trying to recruit help

Sequence 5 A group of humanoid slayers kidnap Telandria

Sequence 7 Her boyfriend must gather the recruits to rescue her

Sequence 2 How Telandria meets the Dragon Queen

Sequence 4 Telandria escapes the Dragon Queen

Sequence 6 Telandria escapes Dragon Mountain

Sequence 8 Telandria kills the Dragon Queen

Okay, so maybe this will work…

That’s it for today. I have to get ready for work. I, also, have to take care of Momma before work, so I can work! lol

Yes, I still take care of my Momma. She continues to decline, but that is just they way of things with her diagnosis’. They don’t get better, they just keep getting worse.

I love to hear from ya’ll. Please, leave a comment or question or whatever below! Have you tried this outline? Do you have your own outline you use? What is it? Let’s chat!

Leave a Reply

