Jenna’s Outline

Posted: May 28, 2015 in Writing
Tags: , , , ,
Imagine me jumping off the cliff without looking down. That's what this feels like!

Imagine me jumping off the cliff without looking down. That’s what this feels like!

I’ve stolen the work of two people and combined them… This makes an outline I can follow to make a great book. Chris Andrews gave me the basic outline and Randy Ingermanson – “the Snowflake Guy” gave me the outline for each scene.

Below, I’ve given you the basics of this outline. You can see where I put in the sequences from Chris Andrews. Under each one, I’ve added the outline for a singe scene. Yes, my chapters will have more than one scene. This will help me to stay on track.

This is where your premise goes. It’s a 25 word sentence that tempts people to read the blurb or the book.
Set up Adventure Begins Things get worse Resolution
Sequence 1 Sequence Sequence Sequence
This is where you put the gist of the scene      
Scene Scene Scene Scene
Goal Goal Goal Goal
Conflict Conflict Conflict Conflict
Disaster Disaster Disaster Disaster
Sequel Sequel Sequel Sequel
Reaction Reaction Reaction Reaction
Dilemma Dilemma Dilemma Dilemma
Decision Decision Decision Decision
Sequence 2 Sequence Sequence Sequence
Scene Scene Scene Scene
Goal Goal Goal Goal
Conflict Conflict Conflict Conflict
Disaster Disaster Disaster Disaster
Sequel Sequel Sequel Sequel
Reaction Reaction Reaction Reaction
Dilemma Dilemma Dilemma Dilemma
Decision Decision Decision Decision
Sequence 3 Sequence Sequence Sequence
Scene Scene Scene Scene
Goal Goal Goal Goal
Conflict Conflict Conflict Conflict
Disaster Disaster Disaster Disaster
Sequel Sequel Sequel Sequel
Reaction Reaction Reaction Reaction
Dilemma Dilemma Dilemma Dilemma
Decision Decision Decision Decision

I hope I didn’t overstep any boundaries with anyone. I tried to give credit where credit was due. If I did overstep boundaries, please, let me know and I will do what I can to fix it! I don’t want to cause anyone any grief…

Let me know what you think of this, as I am unsure of where this will lead me. I hope it will lead me to an awesome book! I have a good start with Chris Andrew’s Easiest-Ever Guide to Story Outlining!

I think my scenes will be improved, big time, using Randy Ingermanson – “the Snowflake Guy”s scene outline.

With that being said, I’m still bringing you along the ride of writing this story, but I won’t be revealing everything here! Ha Ha Ha! Nice try, you!

Let me know what you think of this outline. Would it work for you or do you, already, have one that works great for you? What do you see wrong with my outline? I would love to hear what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

