Little Miracles

Posted: June 9, 2015 in Family
Tags: ,
You have to weather the storm to find the silver lining.

You have to weather the storm to find the silver lining.

No, I’m not talking about children. I just wanted to get that out of the way. Yes, I believe children are little miracles, but that’s not what this particular blog is about. This particular blog is about the little miracles in my life recently. Yes, I believe in miracles. I didn’t used to, but my Higher Power has shown me different. Let me explain…

In the midst of the storm…

For the last several months, I have barely been able to keep body and soul together, as they say. We were completely broke, I mean zero money, after the bills were partially paid. Prayer became my “bread of life”.

The first thing I want to tell you about is I forgot to pay the water bill last month. Yes. It completely slipped my mind. The water company, wanting their money, reminded me it was due or they would shut it off. It was nice of them to give me five days to do this. I wasn’t expecting any money for another two weeks.

The miracle!

Big boy gave me the money to pay our water bill. What a miracle that was! I couldn’t believe he had the extra money to do that!

The second thing I wanted to tell you about is mama wanting all these healthy (and expensive) foods. Yes, these foods she wants are healthy and would improve our health, but we can’t afford them. Anyway, I didn’t realize that two months ago and I bought these foods for her. We ran out of grocery money long before any money was expected to come in. I wound up not eating for nearly a week to keep food in the house for her. The next month, I bought less of them and let her know we couldn’t afford any more of them. I still had to go hungry for several days. This month, we are not buying anything expensive. We have to have food in the house for the whole month, not just part of it!

The next thing I want to tell you about is the truck. Our only transportation. Yes, you guessed it! It broke down, sort of… Let me explain. It would run just fine, once I got it started. However, I had to get a jump start to get it started. I had someone tell me it was the alternator (whatever that is!). I had someone else tell me it was the battery. How was I (a mechanical ignoramous) supposed to know which one it was? I never did figure that out.

The Miracle!

I called a friend and asked her to drive me around for all the errands I had to do and she said she would. I had the battery tested. It was a bad battery. My friend took me from store to store looking for the least expensive battery I could find. She is such a doll! She, also, took me around to pay all the bills I couldn’t pay online! What a great friend!

The last thing I’m going to whine about is Code Enforcement. They came by and told me I had a week to get my lawn mowed or they would give me a ticket. That is on top of the ticket I already have to pay from when I got pulled over last month! I couldn’t afford that, so I took out my lawn mower and we mowed a soaked lawn, through mud holes and all. Now, my lawn is mowed and the yard is dried out.

The Miracle!

I mowed my entire yard on two tanks of gas in my mower. Usually, I have to fill it three or four times when the grass is dry enough to mow. Somehow, with the grass wet and the mower working harder than it has in several years, I only used two tanks of gas!

These, to me, are small miracles. They brought me through to the point where I can see the end of the storm. I may not be out of it, yet, but I can see the end of it and that makes me smile.

As usual, I want to hear anything you have to say about this. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and, please, let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

